mainlogo

Supporting diversity in Computational Social Science ... bc variation matters!

Speakers

The vary css speaker database is intended to highlight the work of emerging CSS scholars from underrepresented groups. We hope that this database will help to vary CSS panels and conferences, as well as help to connect emerging CSS scholars with each other.

Keep posted–this is an ever-growing list! (Profile pictures coming soon)

To access a more detailed version click here.

To add to this list, please fill out our form, here.

Name Institution Discipline(s) Website
Omar I. Asensio Georgia Institute of Technology Public Policy www.asensioresearch.com
Gunes Asik TOBB University of Economics and Technology Economics https://gunesasik.weebly.com/
Anjali Bhatt Stanford GSB Organizational Theory https://www.anjalimbhatt.com/
Pablo Barberá London School of Economics Computational Social Science http://pablobarbera.com
Renata Barreto UC Berkeley Interdisciplinary https://www.linkedin.com/in/renata-barreto-50195060
Emily Bello-Pardo American University Political Science https://www.american.edu/profiles/students/eb0511a.cfm
George Boateng ETH Zurich Machine Learning https://im.ethz.ch/people/gboateng.html
Andras Borsos Central European University Economics, Network Science https://networkdatascience.ceu.edu/people/andras-borsos
Sarah B. Bouchat Northwestern University Political Science https://bouchat.github.io/
Taylor Brown Duke University Sociology http://www.taylorwhittenbrown.com
Chico Camargo Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford Multidisciplinary https://camargo.cool
Leah Castleberry University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy Public Policy (coming soon)
Kaiping Chen University of Wisconsin-Madison Communication https://www.kaipingchen.com/
Munmun De Choudhury Georgia Institute of Technology Interactive Computing http://www.munmund.net
Jorge Cimentada Max Planck Institute of Demography Sociology https://cimentadaj.github.io/
Ieke de Veries Northeastern University Criminology www.iekedevries.com
Teddy DeWitt University of Michigan Management and Organizations https://www.teddydewitt.com
Naoki Egami Princeton University Political Science https://scholar.princeton.edu/negami/home
Lily Fesler Stanford University Education https://cepa.stanford.edu/people/lily-fesler
Timnit Gebru Google http://ai.stanford.edu/~tgebru/
Eugenia Giraudy Facebook Political Science
Alex Hanna Google Sociology https://alex-hanna.com
Aniko Hannak Complexity Science Hub & Vienna Uni. of Economics and Business Computer Science http://ancsahannak.me/
Agnes Horvat Northwestern University Communications https://agneshorvat.soc.northwestern.edu/
Ying-Ying Hsieh Imperial College London Innovation and Entrepreneurship https://www.imperial.ac.uk/people/y.hsieh
Abigail Z Jacobs University of Michigan Information, Management and Organizations, Complex Systems https://azjacobs.com
Lorien Jasny University of Exeter Politics https://www.lorienjasny.com
Jacqueline Kazil George Mason University Computer Science https://cos.gmu.edu/cds/people/students/jackie-kazil/
Elena Kochkina University of Warwick Computer Science https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/dcs/people/research/mapmbc/
Poruz Khambatta Stanford University Organizational Behavior https://www.gsb.stanford.edu/programs/phd/academic-experience/students/poruz-khambatta
Alex Kindel Princeton University Sociology princeton.edu/~akindel
Carly Knight New York University Sociology https://as.nyu.edu/faculty/carly-knight.html
Henry Kudzanai Dambanemuya Northwestern University Network Science https://www.dambanemuya.com/
Tina Law Northwestern University Sociology https://www.sociology.northwestern.edu/people/graduate-students/profiles/tina-law.html
Monica Lee Facebook
Jeff Lockhart University of Michigan Sociology http://jwlockhart.github.io
Xiao Ma Cornell Tech Information Science https://maxiao.info/
Anuja Majmundar University of Southern California Heath Behavior https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=l8xJ4SEAAAAJ&hl=en
Kinga Makovi NYU Abu Dhabi Social Research and Public Policy https://nyuad.nyu.edu/en/academics/divisions/social-science/faculty/kinga-makovi.html
Hilary Mason Fast Forward Labs https://hilarymason.com
Sanaz Mobasseri Boston University Management and Organizations https://www.sanazmobasseri.com/
Mohsen Mosleh MIT - Sloan School Information Science http://www.mohsenmosleh.com
Allison Morgan University of Colorado Boulder Computer Science https://allisonmorgan.github.io
Zanele Munyikwa MIT Sloan Management Science and Information Technology https://www.zanelemunyikwa.com/about-me/
Subhayan Mukerjee University of Pennsylvania Communication http://www.subhayan.com/
Laura Nelson Northeastern University Sociology http://www.lauraknelson.com/p/blog-page.html
Dong Nguyen Utrecht University Information Science https://www.dongnguyen.nl/
Katya Ognyanova Rutgers University Communication and Information http://kateto.net/
Emmanuel Olamijuwon University of Eswatini Demography and Population Studies https://e.olamijuwon.com/
Alexandra Olteanu Microsoft Research Computer Science http://www.aolteanu.com/
Jennifer Pan Stanford University Communication http://jenpan.com/
Nadya Peek University of Washington Human Centered Design and Engineering http://infosyncratic.nl/
Maria Pereda Universidad Politécnica de Madrid Process System Engineering https://sites.google.com/site/mperedag/
Margaret Roberts UC San Diego Political Science http://www.margaretroberts.net
Maria Rodriguez City University of New York Social work https://housingthecity.org
Daniel Romero University of Michigan Computational Social Science dromero.org
Jessica Santana UC Santa Barbara Sociology Jsantana.org
Xanda Schofield Cornell University Computer Science http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~xanda/
Chanuki Illushka Seresinhe Popsa / Alan Turing Institute Business http://www.thoughtsymmetry.com/
Lynette Shaw University of Michigan Complex Systems https://lynetteashaw.com
Sarah Shugars Northeastern Network Science http://sarahshugars.com/
Katie Starbird University of Washington Human Centered Design and Engineering http://faculty.washington.edu/kstarbi/
Rochelle Terman University of Chicago Political Science www.rochelleterman.com
Melena Tsvetkova London School of Economics Sociology http://tsvetkova.me/about/
Orsolya Vasarhelyi Central European University, Department of Network and Data Science Network Science https://networkdatascience.ceu.edu/people/orsolya-vasarhelyi
Nora Webb Williams University of Washington Political Science norawebbwilliams.github.io
Akin Unver Kadir Has University International Relations https://www.akinunver.org
Diyi Yang Georgia Tech / Google Interactive Computing http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~diyiy/