vary css

Supporting diversity in Computational Social Science ... bc variation matters!

Speakers

The vary css speaker database is intended to highlight the work of emerging scholars who are engaged in but currently underrepresented in the field of computational social science. We hope that this database will help to vary CSS panels and conferences, as well as help to connect emerging CSS scholars with each other. Keep posted–this is an ever-growing list!

To access a more detailed version click here.

To add to this list, please fill out our form, here.

Name Institution Discipline(s) Website
Emily Bello-Pardo American University Political Science https://www.american.edu/profiles/students/eb0511a.cfm
Pablo Barberá London School of Economics Computational Social Science http://pablobarbera.com
Munmun De Choudhury Georgia Institute of Technology Interactive Computing http://www.munmund.net
Naoki Egami Princeton University Political Science https://scholar.princeton.edu/negami/home
Lily Fesler Stanford University Education https://cepa.stanford.edu/people/lily-fesler
Timnit Gebru Google http://ai.stanford.edu/~tgebru/
Eugenia Giraudy Facebook Political Science
Ying-Ying Hsieh Imperial College London Innovation and Entrepreneurship https://www.imperial.ac.uk/people/y.hsieh
Chanuki Illushka Seresinhe Popsa / Alan Turing Institute Business http://www.thoughtsymmetry.com/
Lorien Jasny University of Exeter Politics https://www.lorienjasny.com
Jacqueline Kazil George Mason University Computer Science https://cos.gmu.edu/cds/people/students/jackie-kazil/
Elena Kochkina University of Warwick Computer Science https://warwick.ac.uk/fac/sci/dcs/people/research/mapmbc/
Monica Lee Facebook
Xiao Ma Cornell Tech Information Science https://maxiao.info/
Kinga Makovi NYU Abu Dhabi Social Research and Public Policy https://nyuad.nyu.edu/en/academics/divisions/social-science/faculty/kinga-makovi.html
Hilary Mason Fast Forward Labs https://hilarymason.com
Sanaz Mobasseri Boston University Management and Organizations https://www.sanazmobasseri.com/
Zanele Munyikwa MIT Sloan Management Science and Information Technology https://www.zanelemunyikwa.com/about-me/
Laura Nelson Northeastern University Sociology http://www.lauraknelson.com/p/blog-page.html
Dong Nguyen Utrecht University Information Science https://www.dongnguyen.nl/
Katya Ognyanova Rutgers University Communication and Information http://kateto.net/
Alexandra Olteanu Microsoft Research Computer Science http://www.aolteanu.com/
Nadya Peek University of Washington Human Centered Design and Engineering http://infosyncratic.nl/
Maria Pereda Universidad Politécnica de Madrid Process System Engineering https://sites.google.com/site/mperedag/
Margaret Roberts UC San Diego Political Science http://www.margaretroberts.net
Xanda Schofield Cornell University Computer Science http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~xanda/
Lynette Shaw University of Michigan Complex Systems https://lynetteashaw.com
Sarah Shugars Northeastern Network Science http://sarahshugars.com/
Katie Starbird University of Washington Human Centered Design and Engineering http://faculty.washington.edu/kstarbi/
Melena Tsvetkova London School of Economics Sociology http://tsvetkova.me/about/
Nora Webb Williams University of Washington Political Science norawebbwilliams.github.io
Akin Unver Kadir Has University International Relations https://www.akinunver.org
Diyi Yang Georgia Tech / Google Interactive Computing http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~diyiy/